Trade your web history for a useful function
Summary: the plugin will block websites for you. In return, all of your web history, present, future and past, is sent to their server. List of installed apps on mobile phone as well as all internet connection of your mobile are sent to their server. Use it or not is your choice.

Recently, I searched for a Firefox plugin to block certain websites. I divert me from the distraction. Usually, i would block them by writing down directly into the host file. However, with a simple extension it would be more convinient.
After search on the plugin list, I found this blocksite (https://blocksite.co). They have application Android also but no iOS app yet (you can guess why after reading this). I works perfectly as expected. It even redirect the blocked sites to a nice internal html page. That’s nice. I was totally happy with it.
However, like all the cat, I am curious with their privacy policies and I was bored too. That’s when I discover the bitter truth.
It is here for your reviewing: https://blocksite.co/privacy/
Summary:
-
What information collected:
“Browsing history information, including URLs/domains visited, HTTP referrer, URL of service redirects and client redirects, and URL name of the link clicked on”; ==> your past visited websites, your present and your future also
-
For the mobile app:
-
All web connections from the installed apps on the device; ==> They will collect all the internet connections of any applications installed on your mobile, such as internet connection from your twitter, facebook app, etc ==> I do not know how to check it on Android device yet. Please verify if possible.
-
List of installed apps on your devices ==> why do they need this for the block sites function?
-
Your location ==> for advertising in-app, maybe, I cannot check
-
Here is their another paragraph
-
“In practice, in order to provide the Block Site Product, we need to scan the webpages you browse, and we need to retrieve the apps you are trying to open. Meaning, we use the data collected from you, as detailed and specified above, and transmit it to our servers for the purpose of enabling the Block Site Product and in order to know when and where there is content, a website or an app to block” ==> No, you block the websites so the max information you need is the webistes to be blocked. Why do users have to transfer all visited websites to your server?
-
“We do not share any Personal Information collected from you with third parties or any of our partners.” ==> Should I trust them now?